View RSS Feed

Noblejanobii

My Semester in Spain

Rate this Entry
Shoutout to Neo and Cleobel for reminding me to do this.

So I've been in Spain for roughly five weeks now. It's been a really interesting experience thus far. I'm staying with a host family that has two daughters (who are fourteen and thirteen) and have another girl who we'll called Britney as my roommate. Other than Britney, none of the family speaks English. The two daughters speak some English, and I think they know more than they're letting on, but that's probably for the best since we're supposed to be practicing our Spanish. I'd say overall my grammar has improved some but I've still got a ways to go especially since I'm not using it all the time like you'd expect.

I'm taking some pretty interesting classes this semester. I'm studying Hispanic film, the history of Spain and the Americas, International and Global Trade, the history of the European Union, and Health in the Hispanic Community. They're all very interesting classes but also very time intensive. That being said, they actually don't mind me drawing in class which is nice because I get to practice my art more. I also have started volunteering recently which takes up more time but unfortunately it is a requirement by my school since I'm not taking on an internship.

One of the major perks of being in Spain though is I get to travel a lot. Since arriving here I've already traveled to other countries as well as cities within Spain. Most notably I went to Paris a while back and this past weekend I visited Toledo and Madrid. This weekend I'll be visiting Morocco and I have plans to visit Portugal and possibly England/Ireland in the future. I'll put some pictures from the trips down below if you want to see them.