Your Writing Style

Well... what is your writing style? Describe it in the best way you can.

The Queen of Shaymin
    Site Editor

Administrator

My writing style? Hm… sporadic, random, and fantastical like me. I tend to jump from story to story as I get inspiration so I often forget things in between stories. But it also incorporates a lot of elements of fantasy or sci-fi (depends on what I'm writing) because I'm very much into those genres. I'm a slow paced writer that doesn't get much done quickly unless I've got encouragement behind me to finish it.
    / / / / / / / /
    Double Agents with Suicune's Fire

Depends on the type of writing. I try to adapt based on whether the topic is formal or informal (or a mix of both). However, since most my previous works have been formal (yay college) some of that formality has leaked into my informal writing. Fortunately, RPing + a few creative writing courses have helped me NOT do that.

Also, I abuse em dashes, semicolons, colons, and parentheses to no end.

dreamwidth // plurk // tumblr // gallery
    gfx by lucia @ pxr // feat. lily white

Cheers and good times! Neo Emolga's Avatar
    Senior Administrator

There are times when I do a TON of writing, and there are times when I do pretty much nothing. If I get really into writing a story, it can easily be on my mind pretty much all the time (and right now one currently is). I also listen to music that fits the theme that I'm going with and let it inspire the events, battles, and situations playing out in my imagination.

Some other bits:

I try to avoid doing this with back and forward conversations:

"I thought you said you were coming home!"
    "Whatever."
    "Your mother and I are really upset. You should have called us when it happened."
    Instead, I tend to do this:

"I thought you said you were coming home!" Janice told her daughter Erin, looking disappointed at her.
    "Whatever," Erin muttered, avoiding her mother's eyes.