View RSS Feed

Neo Emolga

Halloween At Work!

Rate this Entry
So people were asking about how my secret Halloween party went at work.

IT. WAS. A. BLAST!

Okay, so to fully understand the story and the background on this puppy, I'm a data analyst/technical writer working on contract at Ethicon. Ethicon manufactures surgical devices like sutures, drains, meshes, that kind of thing. They make a ton of neat stuff.

The design history files I'm working on now is for the Surgicel Powder Device. It looks like this if you're wondering. Basically what it does is you press down on that pump in the back (Bellows to be precise) and it shoots a powder at whatever the tube is pointed at. This Surgicel powder is used to patch wounds and perform hemostasis (a fancy medical term that means to stop bleeding and form a blood clot). It's really meant to be used in surgery operating room settings, though. This isn't the kind of thing you'll see at the drugstore or off of Amazon. :P

The whole project for this device is called Project PIXIE. Pixie, because someone called the hemostatic powder this thing shoots "pixie dust." It's outright hilarious how "Project Pixie" appears on all the memos, technical drawings, regulatory forms, and all that jazz. I've seen it on everything and everywhere. You can't run from it. Someone even posted a sign on the conference room door that reads "PIXIE WARRIORS" and "Remember the unicorn!" Sweet mother of mercy, I love this crew. You feel so free to have good fun while you work here. XD